Download our Android App!
Sage's Android App
Download our Apple App!
Sage's Apple App

Donate to Sages

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Title

Need some bedding advice(Boyd’s stock mini rant)

So I started a little project, T/C compass with a Boyd’s pro Varmint stock in 6.5 Creedmoor. I got my stock in from Boyd’s and while it looks amazing I had a couple issues, the back action screw hole in the trigger guard was off center(easy fix). When I set the barrel and action in the stock everything lines up perfect, spacing on the barrel is even in both sides. But as I apply torque to the action screws the barre pulls about 1/8” or so left where it is almost touching the stock. I did the paper test on it and it is still free floating but only barely. Question is if I bed the stock do you think it will fix the issue or no?

Title

Title
    Premium Member
    I'm not an expert, but if its shifting to one side when you apply torque to the action screws, then something is off in the inlet or uneven where they wood is carved for the action/barrel to fit. Screw holes may line up perfect, but the inlet contour could be off on one side forcing it to shift when torque is applied. Bedding may help, but I'm not sure. Hopefully someone can chime in on this. I've seen others on forums with similar issues. Nice looking stock for sure! I've seen lots of Boyd's that were really nice, but they all seem to need some final fitment to work 100% perfect. I suppose at the cost of their stocks, that's not so bad.
    "Do I reload to shoot more, or do I shoot to reload more?" 30-378 Weatherby, .300 RUM, 7mm Rem Mag, 6.5 Creedmoor, .223/5.56, .375 H&H, .40 S&W, 10mm, .357 SIG

Title
    Premium Member
    Something is wrong with the inletting. I would contact Boyd's and see what they have to say, but yes if glass bedded correctly should take care of the issue.

Title
    Premium Member

Need some bedding advice(Boyd’s stock mini rant)